Brief Book Review artwork

Brief Book Review

11 episodes - English - Latest episode: almost 3 years ago -

This podcast looks at a different book each episode through the lens of just three questions:

Why is this book good?
Why is this book bad?
Why should I care about this book?

Books Arts Society & Culture books review book brief
Homepage Apple Podcasts Google Podcasts Overcast Castro Pocket Casts RSS feed

Episodes

Brief Book Review Episode Eleven - Les Misérables (Pt. II)

September 11, 2019 22:00 - 10 minutes - 7.15 MB

Today is the second part of our series on Les Misérables. I discuss the symbolism of Cosette and Hugo's suspending of the reader's disbelief, among other things. www.reddit.com/r/BriefBookReview

Brief Book Review Episode Ten - The Nonexistent Knight

September 03, 2019 00:00 - 11 minutes - 8.12 MB

Today's book is The Nonexistent Knight by Italo Calvino. It's a great novella that plays with some interesting ideas, and I noticed some parallels between it and the schools of Marxism and Existentialism.  reddit: www.reddit.com/r/BriefBookReview

Brief Book Review Episode Nine - Les Misérables (Pt. I)

August 27, 2019 18:00 - 8 minutes - 6.1 MB

Today's book is the longest yet on the Brief Book Review - Les Misérables. As such, I've chosen to divide this episode into five parts. This episode follows Part I: Fantine.  www.reddit.com/r/BriefBookReview

Brief Book Review Episode Eight - Nausea

August 19, 2019 17:00 - 14 minutes - 10.1 MB

Today's book is Nausea by Jean-Paul Sartre. It's Sartre's first existentialist work and pioneers the basic tenets of the philosophy, but is one of the most polarizing works in literature. Reddit: r/BriefBookReview

Brief Book Review Episode Seven - MAUS

July 01, 2019 19:00 - 10 minutes - 7.19 MB

This week's book is MAUS by Art Spiegelman. It's a bit of a break from tradition to include a comic in a book review podcast, but this book is one of the most moving I've read in any medium. Recommended reading in tandem with it is Understanding Comics by Scott McCloud. Reach out on: reddit: r/BriefBookReview twitter: @BriefBookPod

Brief Book Review Episode Six - Dream Story

June 24, 2019 20:00 - 11 minutes - 7.8 MB

Today's book is Dream Story by Arthur Schnitzler. It's a great book and criminally unknown. The book is my pick as representative of the fin de siècle movement in Vienna, a precursor to modernism that is as fascinating as it is insular. Reach out to me on twitter: @briefbookpod reddit: r/BriefBookReview

Brief Book Review Episode Five - Civilwarland in Bad Decline

June 18, 2019 01:00 - 11 minutes - 7.84 MB

This week's book is Civilwarland in Bad Decline by George Saunders. It is one of the most darkly funny books you'll ever read, and puts into words a sort of vague alienation that we all feel but don't want to examine. Feel free to share your opinion on this book and many others at: @briefbookpod on twitter www.reddit.com/r/BriefBookReview

Brief Book Review Episode Four - Stranger in a Strange Land

June 10, 2019 20:00 - 9 minutes - 4.53 MB

This week, I reviewed Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert Heinlein, a book whose role in science fiction I respect but about whose ideas I have mixed feelings. Feel free to disagree and make fun of me at: @briefbookpod (Twitter) www.reddit.com/r/BriefBookReview (reddit)

Brief Book Review Episode Three - The Unconsoled

June 03, 2019 20:00 - 9 minutes - 4.32 MB

Today's book on Brief Book Review is The Unconsoled by Kazuo Ishiguro, Nobel laureate and one of my personal favorite authors. This book is very polarizing, though, and its mimicry of dream logic makes it a complicated and often unrewarding book. /r/BriefBookReview @briefbookpod

Brief Book Review Episode Two - Midnight's Children

May 27, 2019 22:00 - 9 minutes - 4.52 MB

For today's episode of the Brief Book Review, I share my thoughts on Midnight's Children, one of Salman Rushdie's best works. Please, let me know your thoughts on the book and on the podcast in general. Reach out on reddit or twitter. @BriefBookPod /r/BriefBookReview

Brief Book Review Episode One - The Picture of Dorian Gray

May 20, 2019 21:00 - 12 minutes - 5.7 MB

For the inaugural episode of the Brief Book Review, I wanted to share my thoughts on The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde. Please, let me know what books you would like to see discussed and any ways I can improve the show on reddit or twitter. /r/BriefBookReview @briefbookpod